link to RWJMS home page
radion oncology banner image
Banner Image Here

The Department of Radiation Oncology

The Department of Radiation Oncology is an integral part of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, with clinical facilities located on the Central Campus at Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital in New Brunswick, and also on the Northern Campus at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School and University Hospital in Newark. Each of our clinical locations share the missions of the University and partner hospitals in providing excellence in patient care, research, and education of the clinicians of the future.

Research is an important mission of our department. The Department consists of four divisions: Clinical Radiation Oncology, Radiation Physics, Radiation Cancer Biology and Cancer Bioinformatics and Surveillance, each of which has a robust research portfolio. We currently are active in collaborations with faculty of other departments of Rutgers University in medical physics and transformational mathematics. Several of our faculty have ongoing basic science programs which encourage participation by graduate students from Rutgers University. Clinical, translational and basic science research is actively pursued within each of our divisions.

The department is deeply committed to training the next generation of radiation oncologists, medical physicists, dosimetrists and radiation therapists. In July 2006, we opened New Jersey's only Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) approved Radiation Oncology Medical Residency program.

The current educational programs in our department include Medical Radiation Oncology and Medical Physics Residency programs in addition to a Medical Dosimetrist Training program.