background image
B y K a t e O ' N e i l l
Robert Wood Johnson
Martha Lansing,
, associate pro-
fessor and vice
chair, Department
of Family Medicine
and Community
Health, was named
Family Physician of the Year by the
New Jersey Academy of Family
Physicians. The award honors Dr.
Lansing's commitment to improving
the quality of life for patients and
for members of the community. Dr.
Lansing began mentoring Robert
Wood Johnson Medical School stu-
dents in 1986, while still in private
practice. She joined the full-time
faculty a decade later and became
the residency program director,
overseeing family medicine residents
at Capital Health System in
Judith A. Neubauer,
, associate
vice president for
research regulatory
affairs, Office of
the Vice President
for Research and
Economic Development, Rutgers
University, and professor of medi-
cine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical
School, has been named to the
inaugural class of Fellows of the
American Physiological Society. The
rank of fellow is designed to honor
distinguished members who have
demonstrated excellence in science,
contributed to the physiological
sciences, and served the society.
Naomi Schlesinger,
, professor of
medicine and chief,
division of rheuma-
tology, was selected
as the 2015 New
Jersey Rheumatol-
ogist of the Year. She was honored
by the Arthritis Foundation at the
39th Annual Commitment to a Cure
Gala in October. This recognition is
awarded to a rheumatologist who
excels in his or her field and has
demonstrated vast contributions to
the field of rheumatology as well as
exemplifying a commitment to
patients and families.
Melvin Weinstein,
, professor of
medicine and
pathology and lab-
oratory medicine
and chief, division
of allergy, immun-
ology, and infectious diseases, will
be honored with the 2016 Hardy
Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Profes-
sional Recognition Award, which
recognizes a diplomate of the Amer-
ican Board of Medical Microbiology
(ABMM) or the American Board of
Medical Laboratory Immunology
(ABMLI) who has enjoyed a com-
pelling career and personal achieve-
ments that are noteworthy and that
bring credit to himself or herself, the
ABMM/ABMLI, and the profession.
Jill M. Williams, MD
, professor of
psychiatry and
director, division of
addiction psychia-
try, received the
2015 Remarkable
Achievement Award from the New
Jersey Psychiatric Association (NJPA).
The award recognizes NJPA mem-
bers who help promote the science,
art, and practice of psychiatry; con-
sistently demonstrate professional
standards; educate the public; and
serve the community.
Faculty Members Recognized or Honored
Congratulations to the following faculty members on their notable achievements.
Martha Lansing, MD
Judith A. Neubauer, PhD
Naomi Schlesinger, MD
Melvin Weinstein, MD
Jill M. Williams, MD '93
Save the Date:
Alumni Association's
28th Annual
Tuesday evening
March 8, 2016
6:309:30 p.m. Great Hall
Piscataway campus
R S V P :