background image
46 Robert WoodJohnson
Research Grants
The National Institutes of Health award-
ed grants of $1 million or more to the
following members of the Robert Wood
Johnson Medical School faculty:
Paul R. Copeland, PhD
, associate profes-
sor of biochemistry and molecular biology,
a four-year, $1,257,900 competing continu-
ation grant for "Functional Analysis of
SBP2 and Selenocysteine Incorporation"
Benjamin F. Crabtree, PhD
, professor of
family medicine and community health, a
three-year, $1,954,578 grant for "PCMH
Implementation Strategies: Implications for
Cancer Survivor Care" (1R01CA176545).
Cheryl Dreyfus, PhD
, professor and chair,
Department of Neuroscience and Cell
Biology, a five-year, $1,739,065 grant for
"The Role of Neurotrophins in Oligodendro-
cyte Function" (R01NS036647).
Estela Jacinto, PhD
, associate professor of
biochemistry and molecular biology, a four-
year, $1,247,768 competing continuation
grant for "The Regulation of Cell Metabolism
and Proliferation by MTOR Complex 2"
Terri Goss Kinzy, PhD
, professor of bio-
chemistry and molecular biology, a four-
year, $1,532,404 competing continuation
grant for "Regulators of Translation
Elongation Factor EEF1A" (2R01GM057483).
Peter Lobel, PhD
, professor of biochemistry
and molecular biology and member, Center
for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine, a
four-year, $2,544,000 award for "Rutgers
Mass Spectrometry Center for Integrative
Neuroscience Research" (P30 NS046593). Dr.
Lobel was a dual recipient of the award with
Hong Li, PhD, associate professor of microbi-
ology, biochemistry, and molecular genetics
and director, Center for Advanced Proteomics
Research, New Jersey Medical School.
wo outstanding
have been appointed to
leadership positions at Robert
Wood Johnson Medical School.
Fredric E. Wondisford, MD
was named professor and chair,
Department of Medicine, and
Sally Radovick, MD
, was named
professor of pediatrics and sen-
ior associate dean for clinical
and translational research. Dr.
Wondisford and Dr. Radovick
are both Chancellor Scholars, a
designation awarded by the
Rutgers Biomedical and Health
Sciences to the school's academi-
cally strongest new recruits.
Dr. Wondisford previously
served as professor of medicine,
pediatrics, and physiology and
as director of the division of
metabolism at Johns Hopkins
School of
He also
served as
director of
the Johns
leading a multidisciplinary effort
by research scientists and physi-
cians to improve the quality
of care for patients. His well-
funded research program focuses
on pituitary and pancreatic
hormonal growth and regula-
tion. He is the inventor of an
approach to synthesize recombi-
nant human thyroid-stimulating
hormone (TSH), for which he
holds two U.S. patents. The
synthetic TSH, Thyrogen, is
approved by the U.S. Food and
Drug Administration for use in
the diagnosis and treatment
of patients with thyroid cancer.
Dr. Radovick served as the
Lawson Wilkins Professor of
Pediatrics, director of the divi-
sion of endocrinology, and vice
chair for research, Department
of Pediatrics, at Johns Hopkins
School of
An expert
in pedi-
and devel-
Dr. Radovick leads a well-funded
research program focusing on
steroids that control sexual
maturity and reproduction,
neurotransmitters, and growth
factors. In addition, she studies
the deficiency of hormones pro-
duced by the pituitary gland in
children with growth failure.
Both Dr. Wondisford and
Dr. Radovick are members of
the Association of American
Physicians and the American
Society for Clinical Investigation.
Noted Physician-Scientists
Join Faculty
Fredric E. Wondisford, MD
Sally Radovick, MD