Graduate Medical Education Committee


The Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC), led by the Designated Institutional Official (DIO), oversees all ACGME-accredited and unaccredited programs. GMEC is charged with reviewing the quality of GME trainees' training and working environment within the institution and the participating sites as regulated by the accreditation agencies, such as ACGME, AMA, AAMC, NRMP. GMEC is also tasked with establishing and implementing policies and procedures for the training programs.

GMEC Meeting Dates for the academic year 2019-2020

Meetings will take place every other month. All meetings start promptly at 12:00 noon and end approximately around 1:00pm in the Clinical Academic Building, Conference Room 1302, unless otherwise noted.

July 7, 2019
September 10, 2019
November 12, 2019
January 14, 2020
March 10, 2020
May 12, 2020

GMEC Subcommittee Meetings to meet the alternating months of GMEC meeting dates.

Subcommittees currently active:
Resident Council
Wellness Committee

School and Hospital Representatives



Rutgers-RWJMS Carol A. Terregino, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Education
Michael Kelly, MD
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education & Designated Institutional Official
Archana Pradhan, MD, MPH
Assistant Dean For Education
Capital Health System Nancy Chylak, MS
Administrative Director, GME
CentraState Medical Center Jack Dworkin, MD, MBA, FACC
Vice President, Chief Medical Officer
Deborah Heart & Lung Center Lynn McGrath, MD
Vice President, Medical Affairs
Andrew Martin, MD, FCCP
Chair, Pulmonary Medicine
Jersey Shore University Medical Center David S. Kountz, MD, MBA, FACP
Vice President, Academic Affairs
& Designated Institutional Official
St. Peter's University Hospital Frantz Duffoo, MD
Director of Medical Education
& Designated Institutional Official
Rutgers-University Behavioral Health Care Theresa Miskimen, MD
Vice President for Medical Services
University Medical Center at Princeton Kathryn Robison, MD
Vice Chair of Medicine
& Associate Program Director
VA New Jersey Health Care System Dean Giacobbe, MD
Associate Chief of Staff for Education
Program Directors


Program Directors

Anesthesiology Dr. Scott Mellender
    Adult Cardiothoracic  Dr. Antonio Chiricolo
    Pain Medicine Dr. William Grubb
Colon Rectal Surgery Dr. Bertram Chinn
Dermatology Dr. Amy Pappert
Emergency Medicine Dr. Grant Wei
Family Medicine-New Brunswick Dr. Barbara McGarry
Family Medicine- CentraState Dr. Maria Ciminelli
     Family Medicine Geriatrics - CSMC Dr. Joshua Raymond
     Family Medicine Geriatrics - RWJ Dr. David Howarth
     Family Medicine Sports Medicine Dr. Jason Womack
Internal Medicine Dr. Ranita Sharma
    Interventional Cardiology
Dr. John Kassotis
Dr. Abel Moreyra
    Gastroenterology Dr. Vinod Rustgi
    Endocrinology Dr. Sara Lubitz
    Infectious Disease Dr. Susan Boruchoff
    Nephrology Dr. Jonathan Lebowitz
    Rheumatology Dr. Vivien Hsu
    Hematology/Oncology Dr. Claire Philipp
    Pulmonary/Critical Care Dr. Sabiha Hussain
Neurology Dr. Lawrence Golbe
Obstetrics/Gynecology Dr. Gary Ebert
      Maternal Fetal Medicine Dr. Todd J. Rosen
Orthopedic Surgery Dr. Charles Gatt, Jr
Occupational Environmental Medicine Dr. Michael Pratt
Pathology Dr. Billie Fyfe-Kirschner
     Hematopathology Dr. Gratian Salaru
Pediatrics Dr. Indira Amato
     Pediatric Developmental Behavioral              Dr. Anna Malia Beckwith
     Pediatric Neonatal Perinatal Dr. Thomas Hegyi
Physical Medicine & Rehab - JFK Dr. Sara Cuccurullo
Psychiatry Dr. Barbara Palmeri
     Psychiatry - Child & Adolescent Dr. Wun Jung Kim
     Psychiatry - Forensic Dr. Donald Reeves
Radiology Diagnostic Dr. Jeffrey Kempf
     Radiology Vascular Interventional Dr. John Nosher
Radiation Oncology Dr. Sung Kim
     Medical Physics Dr. Ning Jeff Yue
Surgery Dr. Nell Maloney-Patel
     Surgical Critical Care Dr. Matthew Lissauer
     Surgical Oncology Dr. David August
     Acute Care Surgery Dr. Rajan Gupta
     Breast Surgery Dr. Sicha Kumar
     Vascular Surgery/Integrated Vascular Surgery Dr. Randy Shafritz
Urology Dr. Sammy ElSamra
Resident Council - Peer Selected Residents and Fellows


Resident / Fellow

Acute Care Surgery Lois Sakorafas
Anesthesia Benjamin Gorbaty
Anesthesia Justin Roberts
Anesthesia - Cardiothoracic Huy Nguyen
Anesthesia - Cardiothoracic Sho Tanaka
Anesthesia - Pain Medicine Mina Morgan
Anesthesia - Pain Medicine Neeraj Nanavati
Colon-Rectal Surgery Samuel Luka (7/31/18)
Colon-Rectal Surgery Jonathan Lucking (8/1/18)
Dermatology Hamza Bhatti
Emergency Medicine Hamid Ehsani Nia
Emergency Medicine Richard Chen
Family Medicine Cresandra Corbin
Family Medicine Joseph Lugo
Family Medicine - CSMC Vijay Halari
Family Medicine - CSMC Sherry Kumar
Hematopathology Luke Olson
IM - Cardiology Gregory Siroky
IM - Endocrinology Najaf Asrar
IM - Gastroenterology James Penn
IM - Hematology / Oncology Paul Markowski
IM - Hematology / Oncology Aaron Ciner
IM - Infectious Diseases Udip Dalal
IM - Interventional Cardiology Chirag Patel
IM - Nephrology Ayesha Ahmed
IM - Pulmonary Pallak Agrawal
IM - Pulmonary Romala Surendran
IM - Rheumatology Roman Zuckerman
Integrated Vascular Huong Truong
Integrated Vascular Daniel Ventarola
Internal Medicine Vivek Bose
Internal Medicine Emily Hiltner
Internal Medicine Eric Pagan
Internal Medicine Thomas Nahass
Neurology Isaac Naggar
Neurology James Lee
Ob/Gyn Jenani Jayakumeran
Ob/Gyn - Maternal Fetal Med Haylea Patrick
Occupational Environ Med Sean Maloney
Orthopedics Steven Mennona
Orthopedics David Lee
Pathology Ryan Cristelli
Pediatric Developmental Inna Miroshnichenko
Pediatric Endocrinology Olga Yeliosof
Pediatric Neonatal Omer Choudry
Pediatric Neonatal Aditya Joshi
Pediatrics Maaz Jalil
Pediatrics Elizabeth Barrington
Pediatrics Allison Kelly
Psychiatry Davina Etwaru
Psychiatry Daniel Weiner
Psychiatry - Child & Adolescent Marta Papoosha
Psychiatry - Child & Adolescent Uzoamaka Vanessa Onyejiaka
Psychiatry - Child & Adolescent Savitha Rao
Psychiatry - Child & Adolescent Jason Mintz
Psychiatry - Forensic Fatima Masumova
Radiation Oncology Apar Gupta
Radiation Oncology Shang-Jui Wang
Radiology Sarah Pettyjohn
Radiology Ani Pestani
Radiology - Interventional Vasc Samuel Crayton
Surgery Gian Paul Vidal
Surgery Rachel Nemoyer
Surgery - Breast Surgery Jennifer Sasaki (7/1/18)
Surgery - Breast Surgery Heather Portaro (8/1/18)
Surgical Critical Care Monty Littlejohn
Surgical Oncology  Stephanie Greco
Urology Nicholas Farber
Urology Kushan Radadia
Surgery - Vascular Justin Ady