Welcome to the Department of Medicine

Message from the Chair

Fredric E. Wondisford, MD

The Department of Medicine of Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Brunswick comprises approximately 130 paid and more than 450 volunteer faculty members organized in 11 divisions covering the major medical subspecialties: Allergy, Immunology and Infectious Diseases; Cardiovascular Diseases and Hypertension; Education; Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition; Gastroenterology and Hepatology; General Internal Medicine; Hematology; Medical Oncology; Nephrology; Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine; and Rheumatology and Connective Tissue Research.

The Department of Medicine has been undergoing a renaissance due to the recent integration between Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. Over the next few years, we plan to recruit more than 50 new faculty members and leaders to our department, allowing us to expand our research programs and provide even better care to our patients.

Our ACGME-accredited education programs also continue to thrive. We have an outstanding Internal Medicine Residency Program and fellowships in Cardiovascular Disease; Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism; Gastroenterology; Hematology and Oncology; Infectious Disease; Interventional Cardiology; Nephrology; Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine; and Rheumatology.

We urge you to explore our website, as we strive to update its content. If you have questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Fredric E. Wondisford, MD

Professor of Medicine
Chairman, Department of Medicine