Registered nurse Genevieve Rgo and licensed practical nurse Linda Matysik look over patient notes

Department of Medicine

Our mission is to train the next generation of medical professionals and provide superb patient care in the field of medicine and its subspecialties. 

Setting the Standard for Medical Excellence

The Department of Medicine is organized into 12 divisions covering the major medical subspecialties. Faculty are distinguished educators, successful researchers and excellent clinicians who provide primary, secondary, tertiary and quaternary inpatient and outpatient care in outpatient facilities, centers and institutes and affiliated hospitals. They conduct cutting-edge research funded by the NIH, Foundations and the industry and publish in many prestigious journals.

Photo of Michael Steinberg

We have an outstanding internal medicine residency program and fellowships in cardiovascular disease; endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism; gastroenterology; hematology and oncology; infectious disease; nephrology; pulmonary disease and critical care medicine; and rheumatology.

Michael B. Steinberg, MD, MPH, FACP

Interim Chair, Department of Medicine

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Clinical Academic Building
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
125 Paterson Street, Suite 7300
New Brunswick, NJ 09801