About the Department

With more than 110 paid and 400 volunteer faculty members, the Department of Medicine is organized into 12 divisions covering the major medical subspecialties: Allergy, Immunology and Infectious Diseases; Cardiovascular Diseases and Hypertension; Education; Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition; Gastroenterology and Hepatology; General Internal Medicine; Hematology; Medical Oncology; Nephrology; Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine; and Rheumatology and Connective Tissue Research.

Faculty are distinguished educators, successful researchers and excellent clinicians who provide primary, secondary, tertiary and quaternary inpatient and outpatient care in outpatient facilities, centers and institutes and affiliated hospitals. They conduct cutting-edge research funded by the NIH, Foundations and the industry and publish in many prestigious journals.

The Department offers an outstanding Internal Medicine Residency Program and fellowships in Cardiovascular Diseases; Interventional Cardiology; Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition; Gastroenterology; Hematology/Medical Oncology; Infectious Diseases; Nephrology; Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine; and Rheumatology. Additionally, Department faculty provide continuing medical education in the broad field of Internal Medicine and its subspecialties and develop enduring educational materials.