Diversity Initiatives

Diversity and Inclusion:

Our Mission:

The Department of Surgery values diversity, equity, and inclusion among all faculty, staff, and trainees. The department is committed to fostering a collaborative and inclusive environment for all, regardless of any aspect of identity.

Individual differences and unique perspectives are critical to delivering high-quality care for our patients, engaging in scholarly activity, educating trainees and students. We recognize the extent to which inequity, social injustice, and systemic racism impact the health of the Rutgers RWJ community and the communities we serve. Diverse ideas and innovative solutions are required to effectively tackle issues related to inequity, health disparities, systemic racism, and bias in medicine.

Safe Zone Training

RWJ Rutgers Safe Zone is a 2-hour training session that provides foundational knowledge needed to support and act in solidarity with LGBTQ+ communities. This program was designed to educate and visibly identify medical students, residents, and attendings who support the LGBTQ+ community, better understand LGBTQ+ communities and some of the issues these communities face especially regarding healthcare, and are aware of the various LGBTQ resources available within the hospital and surrounding New Jersey area.

As a result of participating in the Rutgers, RWJ Safe Zone program, students, faculty, and staff will:

  • Be able to define key terminology pertaining to the LGBTQ+ community.
  • Begin to explore power, privilege, and oppression (specifically cisgender and heterosexual privilege) as it relates to gender and sexuality.
  • Be able to identify strategies for building solidarity with the LGBTQ+ community.
  • Be able to identify resources available to LGBTQ+ communities at Rutgers, RWJ and the surrounding area.

We are proud to have representation from our residency on the American College of Surgeons Committee on Diversity issues as the only resident representative.

 Committee on Diversity Issues - American College of Surgeons