Residency and Training Programs

Welcome to the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (RWJMS) Department of Surgery. The history of the Department is rich and continues to promote the missions of Rutgers University, namely excellence in patient care, education, research and community service.

The department was founded by James W. Mackenzie, M.D. who was Chair from 1969 through 1996. Following his retirement, the department flourished under the guidance of Stephen F. Lowry, M.D. from 1997 until his untimely death in June of 2011. I am most humbled to carry on the rich traditions of these two great surgeons.

The Department consists of 9 specialized divisions offering complex and innovative care. Our faculty includes surgeons who are nationally and in many cases, internationally renowned for their skill and expertise.

High quality patient care is reflected in the large number of referring physicians and favorable patient surveys. We are constantly striving to enhance the friendliness and professionalism of our environment.

Our research programs provide competitive and comprehensive training for surgical residents and students. NIH funded faculty support basic science and translational research which provides unique and highly competitive opportunities for the next generation of surgeons.

Please visit our website to learn about the advanced and unparalleled educational experience available through our General Surgery Residency Program and subspecialty fellowship programs and to obtain additional details about our clinical, research and training opportunities.

Leonard Y. Lee, MD
Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery


General Surgery
Acute Care Surgery Fellowship Program
Breast Surgery Fellowship
Thoracic Surgery Residency Program
Colon and Rectal Surgery Residency Program
Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Program
Urologic Surgery Residency Program
Vascular Surgery Residency Program