Departmental teaching responsibilities are distributed among the full-time faculty with assistance provided by a large number of private volunteer faculty. Forty-two orthopedic surgeons are directly involved in the education of the orthopedic residents. Clinical instruction in the operating room is carried out on a one-to-one basis. Emphasis is placed on level appropriate independent decision making and development of operative skills.

Faculty didactic lectures are conducted on a fixed schedule. A multitude of academic conferences cover all orthopedic sub-specialties. A two year didactic lecture cycle on core topics in orthopedics is conducted during protected academic time one half day per week. An emphasis is placed on current primary literature and board review. 

Academic Faculty