Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School at-a-Glance

Founded in 1961, the medical school originally was formed as Rutgers Medical School through a grant from the Kellogg Foundation.

Previously an academic unit of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School was transferred to Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, as part of the  New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act, on July 1, 2013

Who We Are Today

Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

  • Part of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Encompasses 21 basic science and clinical departments and three institutes: the Cardiovascular Institute of New Jersey, the Child Health Institute of New Jersey and the Women's Health Institute
  • More than 2,592 full-time, part-time and volunteer faculty
  • Offers six joint degrees, along with a doctor of medicine degree


  • More than 500 faculty physicians
  • 200+ specialties and subspecialties
  • Six multispecialty practice locations
  • Integrated, comprehensive care, from primary to quaternary
  • Physicians consistently selected for inclusion in the top local, regional, and national doctors' lists
  • Trusted, high-quality clinical "brand" in community
  • 460 residents and fellows


715 Medical Students

  • 45 MD/PhD
  • 22 PhD phase
  • 8 PharmD/MD

Global Reach

34 international Rotation Sites